India Boxing Federation elect new president and governing body

September 27th, 2016 / IBA

Ajay Singh has been elected as the new President of the India Boxing Federation (IBF), following elections held at the weekend in Mumbai. AIBA’s Oceania Vice President Edgar Tanner and Sports Authority of India Director Sushmita Jyotsi oversaw Sunday’s elections that bring to an end a period of uncertainty over the administration of Indian boxing. Jay Kowli was elected to the position of IBF Secretary General.

Continuous support from AIBA

AIBA has worked continuously with the previous Ad Hoc Committee and the members of the boxing family in India to create a stable federation which will be able to support the development of boxing.

These elections represent an important step forward for boxing in India and I would like to thank Kishen Narsi for leading the intermediate ad-hoc committee which has allowed us to get to where we are today,” said AIBA President Dr Ching-Kuo Wu. “It was vital for the good of the sport that a transparent process was undertaken to elect a new president of the Indian Boxing Federation and I am confident that Mr Singh is the right man to lead the IBF forward. It is now time to look to the future and work closely with the newly elected National Federation and implement positive initiatives to entice further around the sport of boxing in India.”

A total of 64 members were present out of the 66 total eligible to vote. Eventually, SpiceJet chairman and managing director Ajay Singh beat Rohit Jain by 49 votes to 15. In a three-man contest for the general secretary spot, Jay Kowli prevailed with 48 votes over Lenny D’Gama’s 12 and Rakesh Thakran’s four votes. For the zonal Vice-presidents’ posts, Amarjit Singh was elected in the west zone over D’Gama with a 36-28 result, while Rajesh Bhandari won the north zone election over CK Jerath by 39 votes to 25.