All / 2015 ASBC

Five WSB boxers win gold at the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships, as 66 boxers earn quota places for Doha 2015

September 5th, 2015 / All, 2015 ASBC

Ten terrific finals produced amazing entertainment in Bangkok, Thailand today, where the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships finished in spectacular fashion at the Thammasat University Gym 6 venue.

Five of the ten gold medalists competed in Season V of the World Series of Boxing, including Uzbekistan’s Hasanboy Dusmatov, who defeated Philippines’ Rogen Ladon in the Light Flyweight (49 kg) final.

The remaining WSB winners all fought for current Champions Astana Arlans Kazakhstan last season, and they continued their success in Bangkok.

Olzhas Sattibayev (52 kg), defending AIBA World Champion Daniyar Yeleussinov (69 kg), Vasiliy Levit (91 kg) and AIBA World Boxing Championships silver medallist Ivan Dychko (91+ kg) each triumphed in their respective weight classes, and their compatriot Adilbek Niyazymbetov earned Kazakhstan’s fifth gold medal.

Middleweight (75 kg) Bektemir Melikuzie became the second Uzbek star to achieve gold, while Mongolia’s Incheon 2014 Asian Games winner Dorjnyambuu Otgondalai added to his gold medal tally by winning the Lightweight (60 kg) division.

Hosts Thailand sealed the remaining two gold medals, as Chatchai Butdee (56 kg) and Wuttichai Masuk (64 kg) delighted the home crowd with their tremendous performances.

“After my gold medal in the Asian Games last year, the pressure was big during these Championships. My Uzbek opponent today was really strong, but I tried to avoid his punches and my counter-attacks worked well,” said Masuk following his victory.

A record number of 188 boxers from 28 nations competed in the biggest ever ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships, where 15 individual nations were able to win a medal.

Along with the medals on offer, a grand total of 66 boxers qualified for the Doha 2015 AIBA World Boxing Championships from this event.

Gold medal winners in Bangkok

  • 49 kg: Hasanboy Dusmatov, Uzbekistan
  • 52 kg: Olzhas Sattibayev, Kazakhstan
  • 56 kg: Chatchai Butdee, Thailand
  • 60 kg: Dorjnyambuu Otgondalai, Mongolia
  • 64 kg: Wuttichai Masuk, Thailand
  • 69 kg: Daniyar Yeleussinov, Kazakhstan
  • 75 kg: Bektemir Melikuziev, Uzbekistan
  • 81 kg: Adilbek Niyazymbetov, Kazakhstan
  • 91 kg: Vasiliy Levit, Kazakhstan
  • + 91 kg: Ivan Dychko, Kazakhstan