ASBC Asian Men’s & Women’s Boxing Championships relocated to Dubai  

April 29th, 2021 / IBA

Scheduled to be held in New Delhi, India, the ASBC Asian Men’s & Women’s Boxing Championships is relocated to Dubai, UAE. The decision was taken by the Asian Boxing Confederation (ASBC) management due to the current Covid-19 situation.

The Asian Boxing Championships start on May 21st and will last until June 1st. Boxers who were born between 1980 and 2002 are eligible to register for the ASBC Asian Elite Boxing Championships. The competition will be held in 10 women’s and 10 men’s weight categories.

‘Due to the Covid-19 pandemic development in India, ASBC, Boxing Federation of India and the UAE Boxing Federation have decided to relocate the host city of Asian Boxing Championships and to take place in Dubai rather than New Delhi. The UAE Boxing Federation had the official approvals by the Government Authorities. The tournament will be held with the same regulations and conditions as in the Team Delegations’ Handbook. On behalf of the ASBC Family, we would like to extend our condolences and deepest sympathies to the Indian People and Government, and we trust in their ability to overcome this pandemic soon,’ informed the National Federations ASBC President Mr. Anas Alotaiba.

The President of the Boxing Federation of India Mr. Ajay Singh claimed that boxers’ safety is the top priority.

‘It’s unfortunate that we have to shift the venue out of India. We were very keen to host the Championships in Delhi but we are left with no options. Boxers’ safety is the most important concern for us and hence we had to take this decision. We are grateful to UAE for accepting our request and agreeing to co-host on such a short notice. We are thankful to all member federations and ASBC for their cooperation’.

‘We closely monitored the situation and after deliberation with ASBC as well as the Government of India, we decided to conduct the tournament in Dubai. I wish for everyone’s good health and safety and pray that India soon come out of this situation strongly,” commented the decision Mr. Ajay Singh.

The last edition of the ASBC Asian Boxing Championships took place in Bangkok, Thailand in April 2019. India, Kazakhstan, China, Uzbekistan, Mongolia, Chinese Taipei, South Korea, DPR Korea, the Philippines and Tajikistan shared the gold medals. China topped the medal standings ahead of Uzbekistan, India, Kazakhstan and Chinese Taipei.

The 2019 edition of the ASBC Asian Boxing Championships has set up new records both in the number of entering boxers and also in the number of the participating countries. Altogether 304 athletes including 112 women and 192 men boxers attended the ASBC Asian Boxing Championships in Thailand’s capital.

The following 34 nations competed in the 2019 Bangkok edition: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Yemen.