" "

AIBA unveils names of first boxers, who qualified to AIBA World Boxing Championships Doha 2015 on 60 Days To Go before the event

August 10th, 2015 / All

The International Boxing Association (AIBA) confirmed today the names of first 30 boxers, who will compete in AIBA World Boxing Championships Doha 2015 to be held in October following the final confirmations of their respective National Federations.

“AIBA World Boxing Championships is the most anticipated event of the world boxing calendar and these first confirmed European boxers prove the high level of the future bouts. In total, 260 boxers will compete for a chance to qualify to Rio 2016 and demonstrate the utmost appeal of our sport before hundreds of thousands of TV viewers and fans from all over the world”, – said AIBA President Dr Ching-Kuo Wu.

The 30 boxers have gained their qualification quotas to AIBA World Boxing Championships Doha 2015 through Baku 2015 European Games. Further qualification places to Doha are available through the AIBA Confederation Boxing Championships taking place in August and September this year.

Qatar Boxing Federation (QBF) President Yousuf Ali Al Kazim said: “The preparations to AIBA World Boxing Championships are in full swing and Doha is gearing up to host the event in state of the art Ali Bin Hamad Al Attiyah Arena. The event is a tremendous opportunity for the sport of boxing to reach out to the new audiences in Qatar and the region”.

Below are the names of boxers who have qualified to AIBA World Boxing Championships Doha 2015 through Baku 2015 European Games:

  1. Men’s Light Fly (46 – 49kg) Brendan IRVIN (IRL)
  2. Men’s Light Fly (46 – 49kg) Muhammed UNLU (TUR)
  3. Men’s Light Fly (46 – 49kg) Dmytro ZAMOTAYEV (UKR)
  4. Men’s Fly (52kg) Vincenzo PICARDI (ITA)
  5. Men’s Fly (52kg) Elvin MAMISHZADA (AZE)
  6. Men’s Fly (52kg) Hamza TOUBA (GER)
  7. Men’s Bantam (56kg) Bakhtovar NAZIROV (RUS)
  8. Men’s Bantam (56kg) Tayfur ALIYEV (AZE)
  9. Men’s Bantam (56kg) Dzmitry ASANAU (BLR)
  10. Men’s Light (60kg) Albert SELIMOV (AZE)
  11. Men’s Light (60kg) Sofiane OUMIHA (FRA)
  12. Men’s Light (60kg) Sean MCCOMB (IRL)
  13. Men’s Light Welter (64kg) Collazo SOTOMAYOR (AZE)
  14. Men’s Light Welter (64kg) Vincenzo MANGIACAPRE (ITA)
  15. Men’s Light Welter (64kg) Viktor PETROV (UKR)
  16. Men’s Welter (69kg) Parviz BAGHIROV (AZE)
  17. Men’s Welter (69kg) Joshua KELLY (GBR)
  18. Men’s Welter (69kg) Yaroslav SAMOFALOV (UKR)
  19. Men’s Middle (75kg) Michael O’REILLY (IRL)
  20. Men’s Middle (75kg) Zoltan HARCSA (HUN)
  21. Men’s Middle (75kg) Xaybula MUSALOV (AZE)
  22. Men’s Light Heavy (81kg) Teymur MAMMADOV (AZE)
  23. Men’s Light Heavy (81kg) Valentino MANFREDONIA (ITA)
  24. Men’s Light Heavy (81kg) Oleksandr KHYZHNIAK (UKR)
  25. Men’s Heavy (91kg) Abdulkadir ABDULLAYEV (AZE)
  26. Men’s Heavy (91kg) Paul OMBA BIONGOLO (FRA)
  27. Men’s Heavy (91kg)  Gevorg MANUKIAN (UKR)
  28. Men’s Super Heavy (91+kg) Mahammadrasul MAJIDOV (AZE)
  29. Men’s Super Heavy (91+kg) Tony YOKA (FRA)
  30. Men’s Super Heavy (91+kg) Joseph JOYCE (GBR)