" "

Women boxing is the winner in the President’s Cup

April 29th, 2015 / All

The President’s Cup was organised by the Indonesian Amateur Boxing Federation in the island of Sumatera in Palembang which city also hosted the 2011 Southeast Asian Games.  India achieved four while host Indonesia three gold medals in Palembang where the strength of the women competition was world class. Russia’s AIBA Women’s World Champion Zinaida Dobrynina could not get the gold medal in Palembang which was the biggest surprise of the competition.


Athlete of the tournament

Japan’s Daisuke Narimatsu was bronze medallist in the AIBA Asian Olympic Qualifiers in Astana, Kazakhstan three years ago and he was only one step behind to qualify to the Olympic Games. He is one of the best skilled Japanese boxer now but he has to fight for his place in their top squad later this year with London 2012 Olympic Games bronze medallist tall Satoshi Shimizu who is also in his Lightweight class (60 kg).

Narimatsu defeated all of his rivals in the road to the final where he had to meet with Mongolia’s Dorjnyambuu Otgondalai who has done a historical success for his strong Central Asian nation when he claimed the most expected gold medal in the Incheon 2014 Asian Games. The 25-year-old Japanese boxer also had enough experiences in the international competition to solve such a tactical task what he had against Otgondalai.


Team of the tournament

India claimed four gold medals in the President’s Cup which was enough for them to top the medal standings in Palembang. AIBA Women’s World Championships silver medallist Shamjetsabam Sarjubala Devi arrived to the venue as main favourite of the Women’s Light Flyweight class (48 kg) and she was able to do this mission in Palembang where she defeated all of her four rivals including Russia’s National Champion Zoya Isayeva.

Pinky Jangra Rani replaced five-time AIBA Women’s World Champion Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte in the Women’s Flyweight class (51 kg) and surprisingly she also won all of her four bouts in Palembang. India’s new Welterweight class (69 kg) National Champion among the men athletes Rakesh had narrow bouts in the President’s Cup but finally he was crowned in that category. Harpal Singh defeated an experienced boxer Sukhdeep Singh in the final of the Indian National Championships in January and received the right to fight for his nation in Palembang. He is also a newcomer in the Middleweight class (75 kg) but shocked his rivals with his strength including Korea’s Jee Deok Seong in the gold medal bout.


Surprises of the tournament

Thailand’s Tassamalee Thongjan reached her career highlight in 2010 when she acquired a bronze medal in the AIBA Women’s World Championships in Bridgetown, Barbados. The Southeast Asian Games winner tough boxer had to fight for the gold against Russia’s AIBA Women’s World Champion and EUBC European Women’s Continental Champion Zinaida Dobrynina. Thongjan proved probably her best ever performance and delivered the biggest surprise of the entire competition.

Another Thai lady Southeast Asian Games winner rising hope Sopida Satumrum defeated also a Russian woman star EUBC European Women’s Continental Championships silver medallist Sayana Sagatayeva in the quarter-finals of the event. Following that she lost to eventual winner India’s Pinky Jangra Rani but she proved she is among the best Flyweight class (51 kg) boxers in the world.


Ones to watch

Indonesia’s Southeast Asian Games winner Julio Bria is the host nation’s best boxer who is in a different level than his local and regional opponents. The 27-year-old Flyweight class (52 kg) was a hard target for his rivals due his world class footwork. His rhythm was too quick for Vietnam’s new hope Bui Trong Thai in the final of the category therefore Bria can prepare to the upcoming Southeast Asian Games with great predictions.

Mongolia’s Erdenebat Tsendbaatar won his first national title before his 17th birthday on January of 2013 but following to the AIBA rules he could re-join to the elite athletes this year. The 19-year-old boxer was bronze medallist at the 2014 ASBC Asian Youth Continental Championships in Bangkok and proved great development in Palembang. Tsendbaatar not only advanced to the final of the Bantamweight class (56 kg) but he was able to beat Philippines’ Incheon 2014 Asian Games bronze medallist Mario Fernandez in a hectic bout.


Stat/fact of the tournament

The Vietnamese boxers developed into a new level in the recent years therefore their five medals in the President’s Cup was not surprise in the competition. This was the very first time when not only their women but their men boxers also won hard contests in such an important international event as the President’s Cup.

The Women’s Light Flyweight class (48 kg) was a similar strength in Palembang like a World Championships. In spite of the fact the strong Russian women team, which have been preparing to the upcoming European Games, took part in the President’s Cup their top athletes were able to win only one weight class out of the five women categories.


List of the winners in the President’s Cup

  •  Women’s 48 kg: Shamjetsabam Sarjubala Devi, India
  •  Women’s 51 kg: Pinky Jangra Rani, India
  •  Women’s 54 kg: Nesthy Petecio, Philippines
  •  Women’s 57 kg: Tassamelee Thongjan, Thailand
  •  Women’s 60 kg: Anastasia Beliakova, Russia
  •  Men’s 49 kg: Mario Kali, Indonesia
  •  Men’s 52 kg: Julio Bria, Indonesia
  •  Men’s 56 kg: Erdenebat Tsendbaatar, Mongolia
  •  Men’s 60 kg: Daisuke Narimatsu, Japan
  •  Men’s 64 kg: Vinky Montolalu, Indonesia
  •  Men’s 69 kg: Rakesh, India
  •  Men’s 75 kg: Harpal Singh, India