IBA / Ekaterinburg 2019

Second semi-finalists of AIBA World Boxing Championships

September 18th, 2019 / IBA, Ekaterinburg 2019

The remaining four weight categories semi-finalists are set at AIBA World Boxing Championships in Ekaterinburg, Russia.

Featherweight medals go to Cuba, England, Mongolia and Uzbekistan

Three-times World champion Lazaro Alvarez Estrada beat Russian Albert Batyrgaziev with the split decision 4:1. Indian Singh Bisht lost unanimously against Peter McGrail (ENG). Cuban and England athletes face each other in the next round.

Tsenbaatar Erdenebat (MGL) won his fight against Kurt Walker from Ireland with 5:0 score. Mirazizbek Mirzakhalilov (UZB) progressed to the semi-final through the victory against second seeded Kairat Yeraliev (KAZ) and now meets with Mongolian.

Welterweight medal holders are Russia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and England

Russian veteran Olympic bronze medalist Andrei Zamkovoi won top seeded Olympic champion from Cuba Roniel Iglesias Sotolongo with the split decision 4:1. In the semi-final he meets Ablaikhan Zhussupov (KAZ) who won against Rohan Polanco (DOM).

Second seeded Pat McCormack from England successfully challenged Sewonrets Okazawa (JPN). In the next round he meets Bobo-Usmon Baturov (UZB).

Cuba, Kazakhstan, England and Uzbekistan are semi-finalists of the light heavyweight

Light heavyweight star Julio La Cruz faced Georgii Kushitashvili (RUS). Russian lost unanimously, and in the semi-finals Cuban fights against Bekzad Nurdauletov (KAZ) who defeated Bayram Malkan from Turkey.

Uzbek Dilshodbek Ruzmetov won against second seeded Loren Alfonso Dominguez from Azerbaijan. For the gold he challenges Benjamin Whittaker’s (ENG) who defeated Jerome Joseph-Pampellone (NZL).

Super heavyweight stars are from Kazakhstan, Austria, Russia and Uzbekistan

First seeded Kamshybek Kunkabayev (KAZ) won against Nelvie Tiafack from Germany and meets Justis Huni from Australia.

Bakhodir Jalolov from Uzbekistan won against KO Richard Torrez (USA). English Frazer Edward Clarke met with Russian Maksim Babanin. Judges declare Clarke the winner with the split decision but Russian team made a protest. The commission reviewed it according to AIBA Rules, and the result was revised afterwards. Jalolov meets Babanin next round.