Pacific Cup recap and results

December 4th, 2014 / All

Ecuador’s Pacific Cup featured many of the best fighters from the South American nation in competition, as well as competitors from Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Colombia and other developing nations.

Athlete of the tournament
Talented Ecuadorian Segundo Padilla won their Youth National Championships two years ago,and claimed silver medal at the 2012 AMBC American Youth Continental Championships.

Padilla joined the Ecuadorian elite squad this year, and shined in the Strandja Memorial Tournament in Sofia, Bulgaria in February where he bagged a valuable silver medal.

The 20-year-old talented boxer defeated Dominican Republic’s Central American & Caribbean Games silver medallist Hector Luis Garcia in the final of the Bantamweight class (56 kg) in his home country, and looked impressive throughout the entire competition.

Team of the tournament
Ecuador claimed six gold medals in the Pacific Cup, where their teenager in the Light Flyweight class (49 kg) Jean Caicedo won the first gold medal of the event.

Although only 19, he was impressive against Dominican Republic’s AMBC American Continental Championships silver medallist and La Romana Cup winner 20-year-old Leonel De Los Santos in the first men’s final.

After Segundo Padilla won their second gold medal, Beijing 2008 Olympian Luis Porozo had enough experience to advance to the final of the Lightweight class (60 kg), and he walked over to the gold as Dominican Republic’s AMBC American Youth Continental Champion 19-year-old Sparkinson Almonte was not able to fight against him.

Middleweight class (75 kg) boxer Marcos Quiroz replaced London 2012 Olympian and APB athlete 21-year-old Marlo Delgado in the top squad of Ecuador, and following his triumph over Costa Rica’s Central American Champion Jason Ramirez in the semi-final, he beat Jorge Mercado in the gold medal bout.

In the absence of Ecuador’s top boxer, the two-time Olympian and AIBA World Boxing Championships quarter-finalist Carlos Gongora, his teammate Carlos Mina claimed the gold medal at the Light Heavyweight class (81 kg) where he was too strong for Costa Rica’s current Central American Champion Jose Moya.

At the Super Heavyweight class (+91 kg), Ecuador’s Domingo Mina won the last gold medal of the event following his triumph over Jean Mina.

Surprise of the tournament
Dominican Republic’s Independence Cup silver medallist Alberto Puello had to meet with with Guatemala’s AIBA Youth World Championships silver medallist 19-year-old Lester Martinez in the final of the Welterweight class (69 kg), and the 20-year-old Dominican boxer found the best tactics to keep the distance against the quick Guatemalan teenager, and won a deserved gold medal.

Ones to watch
Dominican Republic’s AMBC American Youth Continental Champion Carlos Adames raised his experience during the fourth season of the World Series of Boxing, and he is among the best athletes in the continent at the Light Welterweight class (64 kg).

The 20-year-old athlete won his third international tournament this year following his excellent performance against Puerto Rico’s Jean Carlos Rivera.

Chile’s best boxer, and South American Games silver medallist 27-year-old Miguel Veliz defeated Dominican Republic’s AMBC American Junior Continental Champion Joaquin Berroa and Costa Rica’s Central American Champion Anthony Solano in the Heavyweight class (91 kg) to bag a solid gold medal in Guayaquil.

Stat/facts of the tournament
The Men’s Light Welterweight class (64 kg) and the Men’s Welterweight class (69 kg) were the most popular categories in Guayaquil.

Chile had not previously secured a gold medal in the history of the Pacific Cup until Miguel Veliz’s top performance at the Heavyweight class.

Among the most developed Central American nations, Costa Rica had two finalists while Guatemala also represented the finals with one talented athlete.

List of the winners in the Pacific Cup
Women’s 60 kg: Jenny Tulcan, Colombia
Men’s 49 kg: Jean Caicedo, Ecuador
Men’s 52 kg: Gerardo Valdez, Dominican Republic
Men’s 56 kg: Segundo Padilla, Ecuador
Men’s 60 kg: Luis Porozo, Ecuador
Men’s 64 kg: Carlos Adames, Dominican Republic
Men’s 69 kg: Alberto Puello, Dominican Republic
Men’s 75 kg: Marcos Quiroz, Ecuador
Men’s 81 kg: Carlos Mina, Ecuador
Men’s 91 kg: Miguel Veliz, Chile
Men’s +91 kg: Domingo Mina, Ecuador