International Boxing Association appoints Honorary Vice Presidents for first time in history

November 19th, 2014 / All

Boxing leaders from around the world approved the appointments of three AIBA Honorary Vice Presidents at the International Boxing Association’s quadrennial Congress held last week in Jeju, Korea.

The three men, who had stood down from their existing Vice Presidency roles, were awarded these honorary positions by Congress delegates in appreciation for the work they had carried out for AIBA over many years.

AIBA President Ching-Kuo Wu said: “I am delighted that Congress has awarded this honor to three people who have served the sport of boxing with such distinction: Domingo Solano Garcia, Abdellah Bessalem, and Keith Walker. This is the first time in AIBA’s history that Honorary Vice Presidents have been appointed. I could not think of three more worthy recipients of this honor.”

Domingo Solano Garcia, from the Dominican Republic, was first elected to the AIBA Executive Committee in 1982 and was appointed Vice President for the first time in 2000. He was subsequently re-elected Vice President in 2006 and 2010.

Abdellah Bessalem, from Algeria, was first elected to the Executive Committee in 1998 and was elected Vice President for the first time in 2006. He was subsequently re-elected in 2010.

Keith Walker, from New Zealand, was appointed an AIBA Executive Committee member in 2010 and elected Vice President in the same year.

To applause from the 350 delegates in the room, the three men were presented with certificates and plaques by President Wu.

The AIBA Statutes were amended on November 13, 2014 to include this new honorary position before these appointments.