IBA announces the elected members of the Athletes Committee 

May 28th, 2022 / General

The International Boxing Association (IBA) is pleased to announce the election of nine members to the Athletes’ Committee.  

This news arrives on the back of voting that took place during the Men’s and Women’s World Boxing Championships. The male and female members of the Committee from each Confederation were elected by registered boxers from all Confederations in attendance at the IBA Men’s and Women’s World Boxing Championships.  

It is exciting to see new members joining the Athletes’ Committee with fresh perspectives and a desire to grow boxing globally,” said IBA President Umar Kremlev. “Athletes are at the heart of everything we do at IBA, so it is vital that their voices are heard and that their opinions are considered when decisions are made. I look forward to working with all the members and discussing how we can continue to lead the sport into a brighter future.” 

The new composition of the Athletes’ Committee includes at least one representative from each Confederation, to ensure that the views and opinions of boxers from all countries can be heard and considered within IBA.  

The elected members of the Athletes Committee: 

Committee Directors 

Chair – Lovlina Borgohain (IND) Confederation: ASBC 

Vice Chair – Shiva Thapa (IND) Confederation: ASBC 

Committee Members 

Thabiso Selby Dlamini (SWZ) Confederation: AFBC 

Oumayma Bel Ahbib (MAR) Confederation: AFBC 

Abner Teixeira (BRA) Confederation: AMBC 

Oleksandr Khyzhniak (UKR) Confederation: EUBC 

Irma Testa (ITA) Confederation: EUBC 

Ato Faoagali (SAM) Confederation: OCBC 

Caitlin Parker (AUS) Confederation: OCBC 

The responsibilities of the new members include: providing a forum for IBA to communicate information regarding programs and policies; ensuring that the view and opinions of boxers will be heard and considered within IBA, notably in the context of the ongoing reforms; and supporting IBA’s mission to develop and promote the sport of boxing worldwide.  

The newly elected Chair of the Athletes’ Committee Lovlina Borgohain shall automatically be a member of the IBA Board of Directors, together with another member of the Athletes’ Committee to be appointed at the next meeting of the Athletes’ Committee. The newly elected chair of the Athletes’ Committee, Lovlina Borgohain stated, “I am delighted to be elected to this position of responsibility. I take immense pride in the fact that my fellow athletes believe that I can play a role in ensuring the athletes’ voices and ideas are heard. I look forward to working closely with IBA to inspire young athletes and fans around the world.” 

The term of office for the newly elected Athletes’ Committee will be until the World Boxing Championships in 2025.