AIBA President Dr Ching-Kuo Wu attends JOC ceremony awarding Olympic Order for services to the Olympic movement to two Tokyo 1964 athletes

October 21st, 2016 / IBA

On 19 October, AIBA President Dr Ching-Kuo Wu attended a ceremony at the Japanese Olympic Committee to honour two Tokyo 1964 Athletes with the prestigious Olympic Order. The IOC President Mr Thomas Bach presented the awards to Artistic Gymnastics bronze medalist Kiyoko Ono and Saburo Kawabuchi, a member of the 1964 Olympic Men’s Football team, for their services to the Olympic movement.

The Olympic Order was established in 1906 to recognise individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of Olympism. Also in attendance at the event in Tokyo were IOC Vice-Presidents Mr John Coates and Mr Zaiqing Yu, the AIBA President’s fellow IOC Executive Board Member Mr Ser Miang Ng, WADA President Sir Craig Seedle, the Vice Chair of Tokyo 2020 Coordination Commission Mr Alex Gilady, JOC Executive Board and Honorary Members.